KRFC Denies Petition, Fires Volunteers

Subject: KRFC Denies Petition, Fires Volunteers
Date: May 15, 2006

Dear KRFC Volunteers:

Congratulations to KRFC on a successful fund drive! Without all the
volunteer time and hard work, KRFC would not be possible. We wanted
everyone to be able to concentrate on the pledge drive so we waited
until now to share our perspective.

We are a group of current and former KRFC volunteers, original founders,
financial contributors, board members, programmers, and strategic
planning committee members. We are working democratically and
inclusively in an effort to make the founding KRFC mission a reality.

Many of us signed the petition, outlined in the bylaws, asking to send
the proposed mission statement to a vote of the entire membership.
The petition was signed by a group more than ten times larger than
the board. Our petition was denied. The board also dismissed three
volunteers using a loophole which denies the volunteers access to the
KRFC grievance policy and a fair hearing. Marty Durlin, respected
station manager of KGNU and trained mediator, offered mediation. We
accepted but the KRFC board declined.

We are asking for the KRFC Board and Station Manager to:

1. engage in dialogue and accept mediation
2. offer fair hearings for the dismissed volunteers
3. promise that there will be no more dismissals without due process
4. contact petitioners whose signatures were considered invalid to
notify them of the reason

The recent actions of the board and station manager are wrong and must
be challenged. When the board and station manager decide to close off
communication the options for resolution become very limited and very
impersonal. This letter is also asking for your suggestions, wisdom
and help as we move forward and insist upon basic accountability to
members and volunteers, and fair practices when dealing with every
person in the KRFC community.

Please take some time at our website so you can be aware of the actual
details. Feel free to contact anyone on the website contact list. [new URL is]

Open KRFC (an outgrowth of the petitioners)

Andrew McMahan * BT Huntley * Carla Conrardy * Carmen Reid
Cheryl Distaso * Chester McQueary * Chris Rozoff * Cindy Reich
Daniel R. Leatherman * David Bartecci * David Lauer * Dean Arnold
Deborah Stucklen * Diedre Shaffer * Don Flick * Don Inglis-Widrick
Eddie Arthur * Emily Hornbach * Emily Yost * Eric Flashner
Eric Hamrick * Eric Levine * Kevin Cross * Jamie Folsom
Jane Kneller * Jeff Moe * Jen Balser * Jerry Gerber
Joe Kissel * Joe Ramagli * Joe Stern * John Kefalas
John Montgomery * Karen Watt * Kate Jeracki * Kellie Falbo
Kevin Foskin * Kristianne Gale * Laurence Budd * Mareye Bullock
Mark Ottenberg * Meg Corwin * Michael Lazonsky * Nancy York
Norberto Valdez * Olivia Abeyta-Gonzales * Paul Bame * Rich Shaffer
Saja Butler * Sally Miles * Sharon Gale * Stacey Koeckeritz
Stacy Buggle * Tanja Andreas * Todd Simmons * Troy Lepper